Spring is here?

Ok, it is still rather cold, but we had a few nice days here in Croatia. Especially last weekend, it was great. We took this nice opportunity to spend the whole day outside for some gardening, first time this year!

muscari

Roses, fruit trees, grapes, shrubs… all of them needed a haircut as we prefer to do that in the late winter or early spring.

rose

If you take a closer look, you can see my husband thinking that he is a monkey.

garden_2

garden

Also, I checked the status of other plants, and spring flowers are slowly growing. In a month from now, they will be in full bloom. Can’t wait!

tulip

hyacinth_2

Nice things are happening in the vegetable garden also. It does look a bit sad at this time of the year, but lamb’s lettuce looks really nice.

lambs_lettuce

This week, I also bought three new cacti for our collection. As always, I immediately repotted them into terracotta pots. I love these pots, especially for succulents as they ensure good drainage. These will be a great addition to our succulent collection. However, I’m not happy when I buy plants and a name of species or variety is not listed anywhere. Manufacturers get really creative and they only write “succulent mix”. For these three, I think that for now I only managed to determine the name of the one in the middle – Stenocereus pruinosus. The one on the left is probably some Mammillaria, but I will have to get more into depth with that.

cactus

And of course, you can buy hyacinths everywhere now. I bought five of them on discount, they will be nice in the house for the next few days, but after that, they are going into the dirt. Next year, they will be lovely addition in some new flower beds that I hope to create this year.

hyacinth

Until next time 🙂

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

